"The Sannai-Maruyama Site has been well-known since the Edo Period.
The excavation which began in 1992 revealed a large settlement from the Early and Middle Jomon Period (approx. 3,900 to 2,200 B.C., 5,900 to 4,200 B.P.).
Many pit buildings, pillar-supported buildings, mounds, and burial pits and jars were unearthed along with numrous pieces of pottery and stone implements, precious wooden objects, and objects made from bone and antlers.
Given the significance of the site, Aomori Prefecture decided in 1994 to take up responsibility for the preservation Sannai-Maruyama. "
"In 1995, maintenance began and the Sannai-Maruyama Site was opened to the public. The Jomon Jiyukan was opened in November 2002.
The Sannai-Maruyama Site was registered as a national historical site in March 1997 and as a special national historical site in November 2000, with 1958 artifacts registered as important cultural properties in May 2003.
Aomori Prefecture will continue to preserve, maintain and utilize the Sannai-Maruyama Site so that visitors can experience life in a prehistoric Jomon Period village. "